

### ASSOCIATION OF PAST EMPLOYEES OF SINGER

# SECRETARY'S REPORT - YEAR 2021/2022

It is with great pleasure I present the Annual Report of the Association covering the period of one-year 2022, for the 22<sup>nd</sup> year ended December 2022.

At this moment, I take this opportunity to thank and show our gratitude and appreciation to our Patron, Mr. Hemaka Amarasuriya for the encouragement and support extended for the formation of this Association 22 years ago. Our gratitude should also go out to our late President, Mr. Bertie Fernando, who continuously supported the association with his expertise to bring the Association to this standard.

We would like to thank our current President, Mr. Nelson Mendis, for all his guidance and directing the Association towards the future. I also would like to thank the entire Executive Committee for their valuable support in attending the meetings held throughout the year and contributing to the success of its' activities.

I warmly welcome all our members who are present at thiAs AGM. Due to different unfortunate situations in the country, it was not possible to have the scheduled events of the Association during this year too. We could have only the Sing-A-Along which was very successful under the Chairmanship of Mr. Russell De La Motte, (Entertainment Committee). Thank you, Mr. De La Motte and all his sub-committee members.

### **Appointment of Sub-Committee – 2022**

The following sub committees were appointed with the consent of members proposed by the President for the year 2022.

#### Social & Entertainment Committee

Russell de La Motte Lasantha Perera Kaushalya Murugadasan Damith Jayasena Sriyani Weerasinghe Ruwan Kasturiarachchi Manjula Wijemanne

#### Welfare Committee

Keerthi Wijekulasuriya Lashantha Perera Russell de la Motte Zubair Hassan

#### **Newsletter Committee**

Gamini Wasalathantri Keerthi Wijekulasuriya Judith Vannithamby Zubair Hassan

#### Membership drive Committee

Kumar Samarasinghe Russell de la Motte Manjula Wijemanne Sriyani Weerasinghe

The President, Secretary and the Treasurer will be Ex-Officio members of the Committees.

### **Scholarship Fund**

Further to a proposal of an Executive Committee member it was decided to transfer the funds in the Scholarship Fund to the to a Death Donation Fund which is amalgamated as <u>"Scholarship / Death Donation Fund."</u>

### **Executive Committee Meetings**

The EXCO has met eight (08) times during the year 2022 to discuss matters related to the Association. Meetings were monthly held at TMC, Galadari Hotel which couple of meetings took place at Singer Finance PLC Board Room, through courtesy of Mr. Thushan Amarasuriya, CEO.

#### **Benevolent Fund**

The Association provided monetary assistance to three (03) in 2022 and one member in 2023, who requested assistance.

## **Scholarship / Death Donation Fund**

Death Donation Fund was introduced in the beginning of the year 2022 to support most of our needy members in the association. It is merged with the Scholarship Fund which we had from the inception of the association. The initial contribution was done by the President, Treasurer and Ms. Sakunthala Armstrong. We sincerely thank you for your voluntary contribution towards this fund. The association will support the members as per the requirement and their financial status.

## **New Membership**

The following 51 members have joined during the year 2022.

| 326 | H.D.G. Moragoda           | 352 | Asoka Peiris                |
|-----|---------------------------|-----|-----------------------------|
| 327 | P. Prakash Nalliah        | 353 | Udaya Priyankara Ambepitiya |
| 328 | Ananda Perera Manoratne   | 354 | T F Mohommath               |
| 329 | Lalith Yatiwella          | 355 | R Nihal Ranjith Vijendra    |
| 330 | R.S. Dissanayake          | 356 | R G C S Rajapakse           |
| 331 | Asha U. Wijayasiri        | 357 | Janaka Mendis               |
| 332 | Sujiva Vithana            | 358 | S M P Kelum Subasinghe      |
| 333 | Mihindu Rajaratne         | 359 | Rohana Jayatilleke          |
| 334 | H D Welikala              | 360 | Dinesh Dharmaratne          |
| 335 | H Chandrawansha           | 361 | P C S Yapa                  |
| 336 | T D N Premasiri           | 362 | A R Nandana P K Wijesundara |
| 337 | Dinesh Kanathigoda        | 363 | Sheahan Amerasinghe         |
| 338 | M Joseph Perera           | 364 | S S Basharan                |
| 339 | Sudath Karunaratne        | 365 | Senani Perera               |
| 340 | D Gnanaratne              | 366 | Renuka Gurusinghe           |
| 341 | Y M Y Chandana Senarathna | 367 | Kuma Bandara                |
| 342 | Shan Lakindu Jayasekera   | 368 | Seetha Hemamali Gunasekera  |
| 343 | Lahiru Weerasinghe        | 369 | Ravi Perera                 |
| 344 | Clifford Johnson          | 370 | Koshitha Peramunugamage     |
| 345 | M Gihan Fernando          | 371 | Nishani Perera              |
| 346 | Thayalan Emmanuel         | 372 | Sandhya Samarakoon          |
| 347 | Upul Kumar Jayawardena    | 373 | Sujeewa M I Wickrema        |
| 348 | T H M G Attanayake        | 374 | Dileepa Wickremasinghe      |
| 349 | Shamara Wanniarachchi     | 375 | Yogendra Dinesh Kumar       |
| 350 | Induka Perera             | 376 | Nadika Seneviratne          |
| 351 | Vishwa Kumarasinghe       | 377 | Nilmini Saram               |

Once again, we thank Mr. Russell De La Motte who introduced the highest number of new members during the past two years. Thank you, Mr. de la Motte.

# **Members who departed**

It is with deep sadness that we announce the parting away of the following members.

- 1. Mrs. Pushpa Fonseka
- 2. Mrs. Vijitha Jayawardhane
- 3. Mr. M R J Bandara
- 4. Mr. H M K Bandara
- 5. Mr. Tilak Galaboda
- 6. Mr. N H A D Wijesena

- 7. Mr. Vidya Vidyaratne
- 8. Mr. Janaka Kaluhendiwela

May their souls rest in peace / attain the supreme bliss of Nirwana!

#### **Annual Grants**

We, the EXCO wish to thank Singer (Sri Lanka) PLC, Singer Industries PLC and Regnis Lanka PLC for the Annual Grants given to the Association during the year 2022 which was very helpful for the development of the Association.

#### **Newsletter**

Three newsletters were published in February, July and November during the year 2022. We should give our special thanks to the Sub-Committee of the Newsletter under the presidency of Mr. Gamini Wasalathanthri who was supported by Mrs. Judith Vanniathamby

### **Resignation from the EXCO**

It was very sad to receive the resignation from Ms. Kaushalya Murugadasan who was the Assistant Secretary of the association, who has done a tremendous service from the inception of the association since year 2000. I wish to thank Ms. Kaushalya for all her support towards the association and appreciate her excellent and dedicated service during the last 22 years.

Ms. Judith Vannithamby, another veteran member who served several years as Asst. Secretary and served as Secretary last year also resigned due to personal reasons. I thank her too for her long-committed service.

## **Special Thanks:**

- Our special thanks go to Mr. Priyath Salgado, for auditing the accounts and all his guidance and support.
- Finally, wish to thank our President, and all the Executive Committee members for their support, guidance, dedication and their valuable time for the association. Very much appreciated your service.

Finally, I wish, "**ALL THE VERY BEST"**, to the new Executive Committee who will be appointed today, for the upcoming year.

We, the EXCO, wish all our members and their families, PEACE, HAPPINESS & GOOD HEALTH throughout the year.

God bless you all. Theruwan Saranai.

# Nilanthi Palihawadane Hony. Secretary

19<sup>th</sup> February 2023